CET logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CET Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • Registration costs USD 105 and includes a topical study guide, unlimited practice tests, and one free first retake.
  • The retake fee beyond the free first attempt is not published in AAH's current public FAQ.
  • The optional Premium Study Guide for the CET is listed at USD 39.
  • Renewal each year requires at least five CE credits plus USD 32 in membership dues.

The CET Cost at a Glance

If you are budgeting for the Certified EKG Technician credential from American Allied Health (AAH), the good news is that the core price is simple. The exam is delivered through AAH's secure online Computer-Based Testing portal, so there is no separate proctoring-center booking fee to add on top of the registration price in the published information. You can test from a personal device or at an AAH-affiliated testing site.

Here is the verified cost picture, based on AAH's published certification page and Information Center:

Cost ItemAmountWhen It Applies
Exam registrationUSD 105One time, at registration
First retakeFreeIncluded with registration, no mandatory waiting period
Additional retakesFee applies; amount not specified in the public FAQAfter the free first retake is used
Premium Study Guide (optional)USD 39Only if you choose to buy it
Annual membership renewal duesUSD 32Every year to renew
Continuing educationAt least 5 CE credits per yearCost depends on the CE source you choose

Notice what is missing: there is no published application fee separate from registration, and no published fee for the practice tests, because unlimited practice tests are bundled into the USD 105. That bundling is the single most important cost fact about this credential, and it shapes how you should spend your preparation time. For a broader look at how the credential fits into a career plan, see our ROI analysis of the CET certification.

What the $105 Registration Fee Covers

The USD 105 registration is not just a seat at the exam. According to AAH, it includes three things that candidates often pay for separately with other credentials:

  • A topical study guide aligned to the exam content.
  • Unlimited practice tests, so you can rehearse the format as many times as you need.
  • One free first retake with no mandatory waiting period, which functions as built-in insurance against a first-attempt miss.

That last benefit matters more than it first appears. With many certification programs, a failed attempt means paying the full fee again and sitting out a cooling-off period. Here, the first retake costs nothing and you are not forced to wait. In practical terms, your realistic downside on the first two attempts is capped at the registration fee.

What the exam itself looks like: You will face 150 multiple-choice and true/false questions in a single 120-minute sitting. The passing score is 75%, and results are immediate. Because the free retake carries no mandatory wait, you can learn from a first sitting and return quickly. Our guide to the CET passing score explains what 75% means in raw-question terms.

What You Do Not Pay Separately

Based on the published fee structure, candidates are not told to budget separately for proctoring software, a testing-center seat fee, or a score report. If you test through an AAH-affiliated testing site, that partner may have its own arrangements, so confirm details when you register. The registration page and Information Center are the authoritative places to check before you pay.

Retake Costs: What We Know and What We Don't

This is the one area where honesty beats guessing. AAH confirms that additional retake attempts, meaning any retake after the free first one, require a fee. The current public FAQ does not state the amount. Rather than quote a number from memory or from another credential, treat it as an unknown and plan accordingly.

Budgeting around the unknown: Your safest strategy is to treat the free first retake as an emergency exit, not a plan. Use the unlimited practice tests to reach consistent scores comfortably above 75% before your first scored attempt, so you never need to find out what the third attempt costs. If you do reach that point, contact AAH for the current fee before you register again.

If you are unsure how demanding the exam is, read how hard the CET exam really is before deciding how much practice time to invest up front. And for context on outcomes, see what we can and cannot say in our CET pass rate analysis.

Optional Spending: The Premium Study Guide

AAH lists an optional Premium Study Guide for the CET at USD 39. It was highlighted in AAH's January 17, 2025 post on premium study guides. Because registration already includes a topical study guide, the premium guide is a supplement, not a requirement.

Is it worth the extra USD 39? That depends on your starting point:

  • Likely worth considering if you are new to cardiac anatomy, rhythm terminology, or EKG troubleshooting and want an additional structured resource.
  • Likely skippable if you completed a recent training program or already work with EKG equipment and just need to rehearse exam format using the included practice tests.

One caution: the complete current account-only topical guide and the paid Premium Study Guide were not available for us to review in full, so we cannot describe their exact contents. Judge them by your own gaps, not by assumptions. Our CET study guide walks through a preparation approach that works whether or not you buy the premium add-on.

Eligibility Routes and Their Hidden Price Tags

The USD 105 is only the exam fee. Before you can sit for it, you must qualify through one of four routes, and some carry costs of their own:

  1. Completion of a related course or training program. Tuition varies widely by school and is the largest potential expense on this list.
  2. One year of field experience. No tuition, but you need documentation of that experience.
  3. Relevant military training. Typically no added cost beyond obtaining your records.
  4. Previous certification through another agency. You may have already paid for this credential; you only need to submit proof.

You submit approved eligibility documentation to AAH for review. Alternatively, an affiliated testing partner's registration or eligibility code can replace document submission, which can save time and paperwork if your training provider participates. If you are still sorting out which route fits you, our breakdown of CET requirements and eligibility covers each pathway in detail, and our overview of CET training helps you compare options before you spend on tuition.

Key Takeaway

For candidates who already have a year of field experience, military EKG training, or another agency's certification, the total cost to certify can be as low as the USD 105 registration fee. The training-program route is where costs diverge, so compare program prices before enrolling.

Keeping the Credential: Annual Renewal Costs

The CET is valid for one year, which makes renewal a recurring line item, not a one-time afterthought. To renew, AAH requires:

  • At least five CE credits earned during the year.
  • USD 32 in membership renewal dues.

CE credits can come from AAH CE courses or from documented external CE, so you are not locked into a single provider. If your employer reimburses continuing education or hosts in-service training that qualifies, your out-of-pocket renewal cost may be just the USD 32 dues. If you pay for CE courses yourself, the course prices are additional and will vary by provider.

Details of the renewal workflow are on AAH's Certification Renewal Process page and in its Information Center. Mark your renewal date early, because a one-year validity window comes around quickly. Employers who value current credentials, as discussed in our look at CET jobs, generally expect that you keep yours active.

Building Your Total Budget

Let's turn the line items into three realistic scenarios. These use only the published figures; training tuition and CE course prices are left out because they vary by provider.

ScenarioExam-Related CostsNotes
Lean path: passes on first attempt, no extrasUSD 105Uses included study guide and practice tests only
Supported path: adds the premium guideUSD 105 + USD 39 = USD 144Still passes on first attempt
Safety-net path: premium guide plus one retakeUSD 144First retake is free; no extra exam fee
Year-two renewal (any path)USD 32 + CE costsAt least five CE credits required

Notice that the safety-net path costs the same as the supported path, because the first retake is free. Only a third attempt introduces a fee whose amount we cannot confirm. Over the first two years, a candidate on the lean path who renews once would pay USD 105 for the exam plus USD 32 in dues, plus whatever CE costs, which is modest compared with many allied health credentials.

How does this stack up against what you might earn? Pricing is only half of the question. Pair this article with our CET salary guide to weigh the investment against earning potential.

Getting More Value From Your Fee

Because unlimited practice tests are already paid for, the cheapest way to protect your investment is to use them strategically. Tie your practice sessions to the content areas the exam covers, and schedule the heavier ones first.

Match Your Practice to the Exam Domains

AAH's historical preparation list covers six areas. Two have reconfirmed weights in the exam update effective February 3, 2026 (published September 26, 2025); the other four have no verified current percentage, so do not assume one is the "biggest."

EKG Technology and Terminology (20%)

One of only two domains with a reconfirmed weight, so it deserves reliable, early attention.

  • Equipment, lead systems, and the vocabulary you must read fluently on the exam
  • Terminology questions reward precise definitions, which suits flashcard-style review

Overview of EKG Analysis and Interpretation (15%)

The second reconfirmed weight. The 2026 update added descriptors of EKG findings here.

  • Practice describing what a tracing shows, not just naming it
  • Use the unlimited practice tests to drill recognition under timed conditions

Cardiac Anatomy and Physiology

The 2026 update expanded this area to include systemic and pulmonary circulation, the cardiac conduction system, respiratory rate, apnea, and dyspnea.

  • Be able to trace blood flow and electrical conduction from start to finish
  • Do not skip the respiratory terms; they are now explicitly part of this area

The Remaining Domains

Law, Ethics, Professionalism, and Safety Procedures; EKG Procedures, Operations, and Troubleshooting; and Common Cardiovascular Diseases round out the list. Their current weights were not verified, so give each a proportionate share of study time rather than guessing.

For a domain-by-domain walkthrough, see our complete guide to all 6 CET content areas, and keep our CET cheat sheet handy for last-week review.

A Short Scheduling Idea

Since your first retake is free but still costs you time and momentum, sequence your preparation so that your first scored attempt is your best one. A reasonable pattern is to front-load Technology and Terminology early, add Anatomy and Physiology next, then shift to interpretation and troubleshooting practice in the final stretch, taking full-length timed practice tests in the last week. Treat any practice-test score below 75% as a signal to revisit that domain before booking your scored attempt.

Where to practice: The CET Exam Prep practice test site gives you additional question drills alongside the practice tests bundled into your AAH registration, helping you spot weak domains before you spend a scored attempt.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does the CET exam cost?

Registration for the AAH Certified EKG Technician exam is USD 105. That fee includes a topical study guide, unlimited practice tests, and one free first retake with no mandatory waiting period.

Is the first retake really free?

Yes. AAH includes one free first retake with your registration, and there is no mandatory waiting period. Additional retake attempts after that require a fee, though the current public FAQ does not state the amount.

Do I need to buy the Premium Study Guide?

No. The USD 39 Premium Study Guide is optional. Your registration already includes a topical study guide and unlimited practice tests, so the premium guide is a supplement for candidates who want extra structured material.

What does it cost to renew the CET?

The credential is valid for one year. Renewal requires at least five CE credits earned during the year plus USD 32 in membership renewal dues. CE can come from AAH courses or documented external sources.

Are there costs beyond the exam fee before I can test?

Possibly. You must qualify through a training program, one year of field experience, relevant military training, or prior certification from another agency. Training programs carry their own tuition, while the other routes mainly require documentation. See our eligibility guide for details.

Ready to pass your CET exam?

Put this into practice with free CET questions across every exam domain.