- What the CET Credential Actually Is
- Who Runs It and How Testing Works
- Exam Format at a Glance
- Eligibility: Four Ways In
- The Six Content Areas You Must Know
- What Changed for 2026
- Registration, Fees, and Retakes
- Keeping the Credential Active
- Who Should Pursue It
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CET here means Certified EKG Technician, issued by American Allied Health (AAH), not any other credential sharing the acronym.
- The exam has 150 multiple-choice and true/false questions, 120 minutes, and a 75% passing score.
- Registration costs USD 105 and includes a study guide, unlimited practice tests, and one free retake.
- Eligibility has four routes: a related course, one year of experience, military training, or prior certification.
What the CET Credential Actually Is
CET stands for Certified EKG Technician. It is a national certification for professionals who record, operate, and basic-interpret electrocardiograms. On this site, "CET" refers to exactly one credential: the EKG Technician Online National Certification offered by American Allied Health. The same three letters are used by unrelated credentials in other fields, and nothing about those programs applies here. If you have seen fee schedules, pass rates, or domain breakdowns for a different "CET," set them aside. Every detail in this article is specific to the AAH credential.
The certification verifies that you understand how to perform a 12-lead EKG correctly, recognize common problems with a tracing, follow professional and safety standards, and describe what a rhythm strip is showing. It is an entry-level, skills-oriented credential, which is why it appeals to career changers, students finishing a short training program, and healthcare workers who want a formal credential for duties they already perform. For a broader look at the terminology, see our explainers on what CET stands for and the meaning of CET.
Who Runs It and How Testing Works
American Allied Health is both the governing body and the administrator. The exam is delivered through AAH's secure online Computer-Based Testing portal. You can take it from a personal device or at an AAH-affiliated testing site, which gives candidates flexibility that traditional test-center-only credentials do not offer. Results are immediate, so you know your outcome the moment you finish rather than waiting days or weeks.
Exam Format at a Glance
The CET exam is a single sitting with a fixed structure. There are no essay questions, no practical demonstration, and no adaptive branching described in the issuer's public materials. The numbers below are the ones AAH publishes.
| Feature | CET Detail |
|---|---|
| Issuing body | American Allied Health (AAH) |
| Question count | 150 questions |
| Question types | Multiple-choice and true/false |
| Time allowed | 120 minutes, one sitting |
| Passing score | 75% |
| Results | Immediate |
| Delivery | Secure online portal; personal device or AAH-affiliated site |
Do the arithmetic early: 150 questions in 120 minutes leaves under a minute per question on average. A 75% passing score means you need to answer correctly on roughly three of every four items. Pacing is not usually the main difficulty on an exam of this length, but you should still practice at speed. Our guide to the CET passing score covers what that threshold means in practice, and how hard the CET exam is gives a realistic view of the challenge.
Eligibility: Four Ways In
AAH does not require a single fixed pathway. You qualify through any one of four routes:
- Completion of a related course or training program.
- One year of field experience.
- Relevant military training.
- Previous certification through another agency.
To use one of these routes, you submit approved eligibility documentation for AAH review. There is a shortcut for candidates coming through a training provider: if an affiliated testing partner issued you a registration or eligibility code, that code can replace document submission. If you completed a course through a partner school, ask them whether they provide one before you start gathering paperwork. The full eligibility picture, including what documentation tends to be accepted, is covered in CET requirements.
The Six Content Areas You Must Know
AAH's topical study guide organizes preparation into six headings. These come from the issuer's historical preparation and competency list, and they give you a reliable map for study. Note that AAH publishes current weights for only two of them in its 2026 update, so this article does not assign percentages to the other four. The full current topical guide sits inside the candidate account. For a deeper walk-through, see the complete guide to the CET content areas.
1. Cardiac Anatomy and Physiology
The foundation for everything else. You need to understand the heart as a pumping organ and as an electrical system.
- Chambers, valves, and the direction of blood flow
- Systemic and pulmonary circulation
- The cardiac conduction system and how impulses travel through it
- Respiratory rate, apnea, and dyspnea as related clinical terms
2. EKG Technology and Terminology (20%)
AAH's 2026 notice confirms this area at 20%. It covers the equipment and the language of the field.
- How an EKG machine detects and records electrical activity
- Leads, electrodes, and paper or digital display conventions
- Standard vocabulary for waves, intervals, and segments
3. Law, Ethics, Professionalism, and Safety Procedures
The non-technical domain that candidates often under-study.
- Patient privacy and confidentiality expectations
- Scope of practice: what a technician does and does not do
- Infection control and general safety around patients and equipment
- Professional conduct in clinical settings
4. EKG Procedures, Operations, and Troubleshooting
The hands-on core of the job, tested through scenario-style questions.
- Preparing the patient and placing electrodes correctly
- Running a clean 12-lead recording
- Recognizing artifact and fixing the cause, such as poor contact or movement
- Knowing when a tracing needs to be repeated
5. Overview of EKG Analysis and Interpretation (15%)
Confirmed at 15% in the 2026 update. This is an overview, not a physician-level read.
- Identifying basic rhythm characteristics
- Describing EKG findings in clear descriptive terms
- Recognizing patterns that require prompt escalation to a clinician
6. Common Cardiovascular Diseases
The clinical context that explains why the tracing matters.
- Common conditions a technician is likely to encounter
- How those conditions relate to what appears on a recording
- Terminology you will hear from nurses and physicians
What Changed for 2026
AAH published a notice titled "2026 Exam Updates" on September 26, 2025, effective February 3, 2026. It makes two kinds of changes relevant to candidates. First, it expands Cardiac Anatomy and Physiology to explicitly include systemic and pulmonary circulation, the cardiac conduction system, respiratory rate, apnea, and dyspnea. Second, it adds descriptors of EKG findings under Analysis and Interpretation. The same notice reconfirms the 20% weight for EKG Technology and Terminology and the 15% weight for Overview of EKG Analysis and Interpretation.
Key Takeaway
If you are using an older study guide or notes from a classmate who tested before February 2026, check them against the new Cardiac Anatomy and Physiology additions. Circulation pathways, conduction, and the respiratory terms (rate, apnea, dyspnea) are now explicitly named, so do not treat them as optional extras.
Because the four remaining areas have no verified current percentages, avoid building a study plan around old weightings you may find online. Use the current topical guide in your AAH account as the authority.
Registration, Fees, and Retakes
Registration is USD 105. That fee is more inclusive than many candidates expect: it covers a topical study guide, unlimited practice tests, and one free first retake with no mandatory waiting period. If you do not pass on the first attempt, you can retake right away at no additional charge. Further retake attempts beyond that first free one require a fee, but AAH's current public FAQ does not state the amount, so confirm it with AAH before assuming a number.
There is also an optional Premium Study Guide, listed at USD 39 in AAH's January 17, 2025 announcement of premium study guides. It is a add-on rather than a requirement, and the included topical guide plus practice tests may be enough for candidates with solid training. For the full financial picture, including renewal costs over time, read our CET cost breakdown.
| Item | Amount / Detail |
|---|---|
| Registration | USD 105 |
| Included with registration | Topical study guide, unlimited practice tests, one free first retake |
| Waiting period before first retake | None mandatory |
| Additional retakes | Fee applies; amount not specified in current public FAQ |
| Optional Premium Study Guide | USD 39 |
| Annual membership renewal | USD 32 |
Keeping the Credential Active
The CET is valid for one year, and renewal is annual. To renew, you need at least five continuing education (CE) credits earned during that year, plus USD 32 in membership renewal dues. CE credits can come from AAH's own CE courses or from documented external CE. Keep certificates and records as you go, because you will need to document external credits.
The short renewal cycle is a practical consideration when you weigh the credential. It keeps your knowledge current, but it also means a recurring small cost and a recurring small time commitment. Our ROI analysis weighs this against the career benefits.
Who Should Pursue It
The CET suits people whose work involves performing EKGs or who want to enter a role where that skill is expected. Typical settings include hospitals, outpatient clinics, physician offices, and other healthcare facilities where tracings are taken as part of patient assessment. The credential is a good fit for:
- Recent graduates of an EKG or allied health training program who want a recognized credential on their resume
- Medical assistants, patient care technicians, and nursing assistants adding a cardiac skill
- Military-trained medical personnel translating training into civilian credentials
- Career changers who have completed a related course and want a direct entry point
Employers value the credential because it shows a standardized baseline of knowledge. How much it matters to a particular employer varies, and we do not quote salary figures here. For realistic expectations on roles and earnings, see our overview of CET jobs and the CET salary guide.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains
You do not need an elaborate system, but the order in which you tackle the six areas matters because they build on each other. Anatomy and physiology come first because EKG waveforms only make sense once you know the conduction pathway. Procedures and troubleshooting benefit from hands-on practice, so pair them with any lab time you have. A workable sequence for a candidate with a few weeks:
Cardiac Anatomy and Physiology
- Trace blood flow through systemic and pulmonary circulation
- Learn the conduction system in order, from origin to ventricles
- Review respiratory rate, apnea, and dyspnea terms added for 2026
EKG Technology and Terminology, then Procedures
- Master wave, interval, and segment vocabulary (a 20% area)
- Walk through electrode placement and recording steps
- List common artifact causes and their fixes
Analysis, Diseases, and Law/Ethics/Safety
- Practice describing rhythm findings in plain terms (a 15% area)
- Connect common cardiovascular diseases to tracing features
- Review privacy, scope of practice, and safety rules
Timed practice
- Take full-length practice tests under a 120-minute clock
- Review every missed question by domain
- Revisit weak areas before scheduling the exam
Use the unlimited practice tests that come with registration, and supplement with our CET practice questions to test yourself across all six areas. For a more detailed plan, see the CET study guide, and keep the one-page CET cheat sheet handy for final review. If you want to see how outcomes tend to look, our pass rate article explains what is and is not known.
Key Takeaway
Do not skip Law, Ethics, Professionalism, and Safety Procedures because it feels easy. With a 75% bar across 150 questions, an entire neglected domain can cost you the margin you need. Treat all six areas as testable.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified EKG Technician, the credential issued by American Allied Health (AAH). It is separate from other certifications that happen to use the same three letters, and none of their rules, fees, or exam details apply to this one.
The exam has 150 multiple-choice and true/false questions, delivered in one 120-minute sitting. You need 75% to pass, and results are available immediately after you finish.
Registration is USD 105. That includes a topical study guide, unlimited practice tests, and one free first retake with no mandatory waiting period. Additional retakes cost a fee that AAH's public FAQ does not specify, and an optional Premium Study Guide is listed at USD 39.
Not necessarily. A related course is one of four eligibility routes. You can also qualify with one year of field experience, relevant military training, or a previous certification through another agency, with documentation submitted for AAH review.
It is valid for one year. Annual renewal requires at least five CE credits earned during that year and USD 32 in membership renewal dues. AAH CE courses or documented external CE can satisfy the credit requirement.