- The Short Answer: What CET Means Here
- Who Issues the Credential
- How the Exam Is Built and Delivered
- The Six Content Areas Candidates Prepare For
- What Changed Effective February 3, 2026
- Who Can Sit for the Exam
- Registration Fee Mechanics and What You Get
- Keeping the Credential Active
- Where the Credential Fits in Cardiac Care Work
- Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains
- A Note on Look-Alike Acronyms
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CET here means Certified EKG Technician, issued by American Allied Health (AAH) through its online EKG Technician national certification.
- The exam has 150 multiple-choice and true/false questions, a 120-minute limit, and a 75% passing score.
- Registration costs USD 105 and includes a study guide, unlimited practice tests, and one free first retake.
- Four eligibility routes exist: training course, one year of experience, military training, or another agency's certification.
The Short Answer: What CET Means Here
On this site, CET refers to one credential only: the EKG Technician Online National Certification, which American Allied Health calls the Certified EKG Technician (CET). It is an entry-level, competency-focused credential for people who record, check, and begin to recognize electrocardiogram tracings, and it is delivered through a secure online testing portal rather than a traditional test center.
If you have searched for the acronym and landed on several unrelated credentials, that is normal. The same three letters are used elsewhere in healthcare and in other industries entirely. If you want a broader orientation to the term itself, our pages on what CET stands for and CET meaning cover the naming question; this article stays focused on the EKG technician credential and what it takes to earn it.
Who Issues the Credential
The governing and administering body is American Allied Health (AAH). AAH runs the certification, sets the eligibility rules, administers the exam through its own computer-based testing portal, and manages annual renewal. Candidates can test from a personal device or at an AAH-affiliated testing site, which is a meaningful convenience for working technicians and students who cannot easily travel to a proctored facility.
Because AAH controls every part of the process, the authoritative answers to questions about scope, fees, and renewal always come from AAH itself. Third-party summaries (including this one) are best used to orient yourself, then checked against AAH's current published information before you register.
How the Exam Is Built and Delivered
The CET exam is a single sitting with a straightforward structure. There are no separate sections, no breaks between parts, and no adaptive branching described in the published information.
| Feature | CET (AAH) Detail |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 150 |
| Question types | Multiple-choice and true/false |
| Time limit | 120 minutes, one sitting |
| Passing score | 75% |
| Results | Immediate |
| Delivery | AAH online Computer-Based Testing portal, personal device or affiliated testing site |
Two practical implications follow from those numbers. First, 120 minutes for 150 questions averages out to under a minute per item, so you cannot afford to agonize over any single question. Second, the mix of multiple-choice and true/false items rewards precise recall of definitions and rules: true/false questions leave little room for partial understanding, because one misread qualifier flips the answer.
For a closer look at the scoring threshold, see our breakdown of the CET passing score, and for a realistic sense of how demanding the exam feels, read how hard the CET exam is.
The Six Content Areas Candidates Prepare For
AAH's historical preparation material organizes the credential's competencies under six headings. These come from AAH's own topical study guide and represent the issuer's preparation and competency list. Only two headings carry weights reconfirmed in AAH's most recent exam-update notice, so treat the others as unweighted rather than assuming any particular proportion.
Domain 1: Cardiac Anatomy and Physiology
The foundation for everything else. You must connect structure to electrical and mechanical function so that a waveform means something physical.
- Chambers, valves, and the direction of blood flow through the heart
- Systemic and pulmonary circulation (explicitly added in the 2026 update)
- The cardiac conduction system and how impulses travel through it
- Respiratory rate, apnea, and dyspnea as related physiologic observations
Domain 2: EKG Technology and Terminology (20%)
One of the two domains with a reconfirmed weight, at 20%. This is the vocabulary and equipment domain.
- How the EKG machine records electrical activity and what the leads represent
- Core terms used on tracings and in documentation
- Equipment components and their functions
Domain 3: Law, Ethics, Professionalism, and Safety Procedures
Scope-of-practice and patient-protection content. Expect scenario-style questions where the right answer is the one that protects the patient and stays within a technician's role.
- Patient confidentiality and professional conduct
- Limits of what a technician may and may not do
- Safety practices around patients and equipment
Domain 4: EKG Procedures, Operations, and Troubleshooting
The hands-on domain. It covers how a clean tracing gets made and what to do when it does not.
- Patient preparation and electrode placement
- Running the study and verifying quality
- Recognizing and correcting artifact and other recording problems
Domain 5: Overview of EKG Analysis and Interpretation (15%)
The second domain with a reconfirmed weight, at 15%. It is an overview rather than a diagnostic deep dive, consistent with a technician's role.
- Identifying the components of a normal tracing
- Describing EKG findings (descriptors were added in the 2026 update)
- Recognizing when a tracing needs escalation
Domain 6: Common Cardiovascular Diseases
Disease-recognition background that gives the tracings clinical context.
- How common cardiac conditions relate to what shows up on an EKG
- Terminology you will encounter in orders and charts
For a deeper domain-by-domain walkthrough, our complete guide to all six CET content areas expands on each heading.
What Changed Effective February 3, 2026
AAH published a notice titled "2026 Exam Updates!" on September 26, 2025, with changes effective February 3, 2026. The notice expressly confirms the 20% weight for EKG Technology and Terminology and the 15% weight for Overview of EKG Analysis and Interpretation. It also adds specific topics to two domains:
- Cardiac Anatomy and Physiology now explicitly includes systemic and pulmonary circulation, the cardiac conduction system, respiratory rate, apnea, and dyspnea.
- Analysis and Interpretation now includes descriptors of EKG findings.
If you are building a plan around the newest scope, our CET study guide walks through a preparation approach, and the CET cheat sheet condenses the facts worth memorizing.
Who Can Sit for the Exam
You cannot simply register and test. AAH requires you to qualify through one of four routes:
- Completion of a related course or training program
- One year of experience in the field
- Relevant military training
- Previous certification through another agency
You submit approved eligibility documentation to AAH for review. If you are coming through an AAH-affiliated testing partner, that partner's registration or eligibility code can replace document submission, which shortens the process for students enrolled in affiliated programs.
Key Takeaway
Match your background to a route before you pay. A student finishing a related program and a technician with a year on the job both qualify, but the documentation you need to gather is different. Our CET requirements guide details each pathway, and if you are still deciding on coursework, see our overview of CET training.
Registration Fee Mechanics and What You Get
Registration costs USD 105. That fee is more inclusive than a bare exam charge, because it bundles in preparation resources:
- A topical study guide
- Unlimited practice tests
- One free first retake, with no mandatory waiting period
Additional retakes beyond the free one require a fee, but the current public FAQ does not state the amount, so confirm it with AAH if you think you may need a second retake. AAH also lists an optional Premium Study Guide at USD 39 for CET. Whether it is worth adding depends on how comfortable you are with the included topical guide and how much extra structure you want.
Remember that renewal carries its own costs, covered below. For a full accounting across registration, optional materials, and ongoing dues, see our CET certification cost breakdown.
Keeping the Credential Active
The certification is valid for one year. Renewing annually requires:
- At least five continuing-education (CE) credits earned during the year
- USD 32 in membership renewal dues
CE credits can come from AAH's own CE courses or from documented external CE, so you are not locked into one provider. Because the cycle is annual, it is wise to treat CE as a steady background habit rather than a year-end scramble. Renewal details are published on AAH's renewal page and Information Center.
Where the Credential Fits in Cardiac Care Work
An EKG technician's core job is to obtain a clean, accurate tracing and hand it off for clinical review. That work appears wherever cardiac testing happens: hospitals, physician and cardiology offices, outpatient clinics, and diagnostic or screening settings. The credential signals to an employer that you have been tested on anatomy, equipment, procedure, safety, and basic interpretation rather than simply having learned on the job.
Whether a certification changes your pay or hiring odds depends on your local market and employer expectations, and we do not quote figures here. If you are weighing the practical payoff, our pages on CET jobs, the CET salary guide, and whether the CET is worth it take that question on directly. For general orientation to the credential name, see what CET certification is and our CET certification overview.
Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Domains
You do not need an elaborate method, but the order in which you tackle the domains matters because they build on one another. Anatomy and physiology come first because the waveform content in later domains only makes sense once you understand the conduction system.
Build the Foundation
- Cardiac Anatomy and Physiology, including circulation and conduction
- Start the unlimited practice tests early to see the question style
Equipment and Procedure
- EKG Technology and Terminology (the 20% domain)
- EKG Procedures, Operations, and Troubleshooting, including artifact
Interpretation and Disease Context
- Overview of EKG Analysis and Interpretation (the 15% domain)
- Common Cardiovascular Diseases
Rules and Full-Length Practice
- Law, Ethics, Professionalism, and Safety Procedures
- Timed runs of 150 questions in 120 minutes
Adjust the pacing to your own schedule and prior experience. Someone already working with EKG machines may compress Weeks 2 and 4, while a newcomer may stretch Week 1. When you want exam-style repetition, the CET practice tests let you rehearse under timed conditions, and you can return to the main practice test site whenever you want to check progress against the 75% threshold. For pass-rate context, see what the data shows on CET pass rates.
A Note on Look-Alike Acronyms
The NHA also offers an EKG-related credential, but it is a separate certification from a different body with its own rules, fees, and exam. Everything on this page applies to the AAH Certified EKG Technician only. If you are comparing programs, confirm which organization issues the credential an employer or school is asking about, since the requirements are not interchangeable. For more naming clarity, see what CET is, what a CET is, and what CET means; for exam timing, see CET exam dates.
Frequently Asked Questions
It stands for Certified EKG Technician, the credential offered through American Allied Health's EKG Technician Online National Certification. It is not the same as other credentials that happen to share the acronym.
The exam has 150 multiple-choice and true/false questions to be completed in a single 120-minute sitting. The passing score is 75%, and results are provided immediately.
Registration is USD 105 and includes a topical study guide, unlimited practice tests, and one free first retake with no mandatory waiting period. An optional Premium Study Guide is listed at USD 39. The fee for additional retakes is not specified in the current public FAQ.
You must meet one of four routes: completing a related course or training program, having one year of field experience, holding relevant military training, or having previous certification through another agency. Approved documentation is reviewed by AAH, or an affiliated partner's eligibility code can replace it.
It is valid for one year. Renewal requires at least five CE credits earned during the year and USD 32 in membership renewal dues, and CE can come from AAH courses or documented external CE.